Terahertz work wins student paper competition at CLEO

Share this on social media:

Fabian Langer of University of Regensburg, Germany has won the annual Maiman Outstanding Student Paper Competition at CLEO 2014.

Langer won for his paper ‘CEP control of dynamical Bloch oscillations in a bulk semiconductor via ultra-intense multi-THz fields’. The grand prize of $3,000 and two honourable mentions were presented during the plenary talks and awards ceremony on 10 June at CLEO: 2014.

There were 965 submissions reviewed and scored by the CLEO 2014 technical programme committee, which selected 28 semi-finalists. Six finalists were chosen, who presented their research in a private session at the show. The presentations were judged based on innovation, research excellence and presentation ability.

Honourable mentions went to: Matthias Lauermann at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany, for the paper ‘16QAM silicon-organic hybrid (SOH) modulator operating with 0.6 Vpp and 19 fJ/bit at 112 Gbit/s’, and Kevin O’Brien at the University of California, Berkeley, US, for the paper ‘Phase mismatch – free nonlinear propagation in optical zero-index materials’.

The Maiman Outstanding Student Paper Competition honours American physicist Theodore Maiman for his invention of the first working laser, and his other outstanding contributions to optics and photonics. It recognises student innovation and research excellence in the areas of laser technology and electro-optics. The award is endowed by a grant from HRL Laboratories, the IEEE Photonics Society and the APS Division of Laser Science and is administered by the OSA Foundation.

Additionally, 10 students received travel grants to attend CLEO 2014 as recipients of the Incubic/Milton Chang Student Travel Grants.