Young researcher award for optical technologies open for submissions

Share this on social media:

For the ninth time, the Erlangen Graduate School in Advanced Optical Technologies (SAOT) invites young researchers to apply for the SAOT Young Researcher Award (YRA) in Advanced Optical Technologies 2016. The 100,000 euro award is open to scientists with a proven record in optics, photonics and optical technologies. Closing date for the submission of applications is November 30, 2015.

Besides the prize money the award includes a twelve month research stay at Erlangen. The laureate will have the formal status of a guest professor and will give lectures and seminars for the doctoral candidates of SAOT. The YRA is granted annually. The maximum age at the date of application is 40 years. For details please see:

Former recipients are Professor Clemens Kaminski (2008 – Cambridge University, UK), Professor Alexandra Boltasseva (2009 – Purdue University, USA), Professor Terrence R. Meyer (2010 – Purdue University, USA), Professor Zeev Zalevsky (2011 – Bar Ilan University, Israel), Professor Martin Booth (2012 – University of Oxford, UK), Professor Jonathan Home (2013 – ETH Zurich, Switzerland), Professor Edouard Berrocal (2014 – Lund University, Sweden) and Dr. Alexander Jesacher (2015 – Innsbruck Medical University, Austria).

In 2006 the SAOT was established at the Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg within the “Excellence Initiative by the German Federal and State Governments to Promote Science and Research at German Universities” to provide an interdisciplinary, structured education and research training program towards a Dr.-degree (PhD) within a highly attractive research environment.