Innovation Award Laser Technology 2010 winners announced

Share this on social media:

The Innovation Award Laser Technology 2010, initiated by the Arbeitskreis Lasertechnik and the European Laser Institute, has been won by Keming Du, managing director of EdgeWave, for his innovation entitled 'Q-switched Innoslab lasers for high quality micro-processing'.

The award was presented at Aachen town hall on 5 May, as part of the International Laser Technology Congress AKL.

Innoslab lasers represent a new laser class that is suitable for a large variety of applications in different sectors of industry and research. The lasers enable a variety of challenging applications with added value such micro-processing of glass, scribing, edge deletion, high throughput thin film structuring, and pumping of dye lasers.

Second place was awarded to Jürgen Dupré and his team of Rolls-Royce Deutschland for a new repair technique for aero-engine components using laser metal deposition.

Third place went to Hermann Lembeck and his team of the Meyer Werft Laserzentrum for laser hybrid welding of thick sheet metals with disk lasers in the shipbuilding industry.