SPIE names 59 new fellows

Share this on social media:

SPIE elected 59 members as Fellows of the Society in 2009. ‘The annual recognition of Fellows provides an opportunity for us to acknowledge outstanding members for their service to the general optics community,’ said Maria Yzuel, SPIE president. Fellows are members of distinction who have made significant scientific and technical contributions in the fields of optics, photonics, and imaging. They are honoured for their technical achievement, for their service to the general optics community, and to SPIE in particular. More than 500 SPIE members have become Fellows since the Society’s inception in 1955. ‘This year’s fellows are a very talented group representing a broad range of optics and photonics technologies. The Fellows Committee congratulates them and urges our colleagues to continue to nominate other members next year,’ said James Harrington, chair of the 2008 SPIE Fellows Committee.