Matthias Wierlacher named chairman of Jenoptik supervisory board

Matthias Wierlacher has been elected as chairman of the Jenoptik Supervisory Board at its extraordinary meeting on 15 July.

Wierlacher, 51, has been chairman of the Executive Board at Thüringer Aufbaubank since February 2002, and a member of the Jenoptik Supervisory Board since June 2012. Between 2000 and 2001, he was a member of the Executive Board of Deutsche Effecten- und Wechsel-Beteiligungsgesellschaft AG (DEWB), a former Jenoptik majority holding. Prior to that, he held a range of leading positions at Bayerische Vereinsbank.

'As a Member of the DEWB Executive Board, Matthias Wierlacher acquired intimate knowledge of Jenoptik prior to joining the Supervisory Board and is well acquainted with the company and its history,' commented Michael Mertin, Jenoptik’s president and CEO. 'This internal reappointment of the Chairman of the Supervisory Board guarantees continuity; the close partnership enjoyed by the Executive Board and the Supervisory Board will continue unabated.'

Speaking of his appointment, Wierlacher commented: 'I am pleased about the confidence of the Supervisory Board members. I am happy to contribute the experience gained in many years as member of Supervisory Boards to successfully accompany the Jenoptik Group on its path of sustainable and profitable growth.' 

Wierlacher succeeds Rudolf Humer, who stepped down from his position on the Supervisory Board with effect from 30 June, 2015. Michael Ebenau remains the vice chairman of the Jenoptik Supervisory Board.

Furthermore, during the course of the meeting, two new members were nominated to the Supervisory Board. A request for their appointment by the court up to the next Annual General Meeting in 2016 will be submitted shortly. The two new members of the Supervisory Board will then be put forward for election by the Annual General Meeting.